Skip to content

On A Return to Simpler Times

April 11, 2012

It seems it’s time to bid adieu to my Facebook friends.  (No, it’s nothing you said!) It can be addictive and I am certainly hooked, spending way too much time indulging in its no contact, easily misconstrued comments and conversations. Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about life before the internet and how much warmer and more personal it could be in the simpler times.   Well, not THIS simple!  (But how cool was this little intro to science!!)

getty_123318036_8

Back when we talked on the telephone instead of texting, and how much I enjoyed opening & reading letters from loved ones who were far away.  Don’t get me wrong – I’m an avid texter, and I so get that it can be more convenient, quicker and less  – what?  invasive?  disruptive?  True… sometimes.  OK, often.

I absolutely don’t intend to stand on a soap-box and rant, but I’m fairly sure that there are a lot of people who have felt the same for some time – or are beginning to.  Everyone else, just food for thought.

  For me, with my tendency to embrace the life of the recluse, I’m beginning to yearn for connections, for conversations with less chance of misunderstanding while we can read one another’s faces or simply verify the intent of a comment.

So, dear friends on Facebook:  please call!  Or if you don’t have my number or I don’t have yours, please send me an email so we can stay in touch!!

From → From the Heart

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment